Morehouse’s Walker named Player of the Year, leads Division II All-America Team

As the college basketball season has come to a close, BOXTOROW releases its 10th annual Division II All-America teams.

Morehouse guard Tyrius Walker has been named BOXTOROW Division II Player of the Year.  Walker helped lead the Maroon Tigers to a 25-3 record and a berth in the NCAA Division II Tournament. He led the SIAC and was top 15 in the nation in scoring, averaging 22.8 points per game. He also added 5.4 rebounds per game, recorded 97 assists and 51 steals. He scored 20 or more points in a game 16 times, 30 or more points four times and scored a career high 47 points in a victory over Benedict on January 22.

Walker was selected BOXTOROW First Team All-America last year.

Claflin head coach Ricky Jackson was named BOXTOROW Coach of the Year.  Jackson led the Panthers to a 26-7 overall record, the Panthers’ first SIAC Tournament championship and to the semifinals of the NCAA South Regional.

BOXTOROW has administered the All-America teams since 2009.

First Team All-Americans
Kendarius Ash, Lane (F, Jr., Decatur, Ga.)
Jaleel Charles, Claflin (C, Sr., Far Rockaway, N.Y.)
William Crandell, Winston-Salem State (F, Jr., Bethel, N.C.)
Robert Davis III, Johnson C. Smith (G, Sr., West Friendship, Md.)
Savon Goodman, Shaw (F, Sr., Philadelphia, Pa.)
Pat Johnson-Agwu, West Virginia State (F, Jr., Bowie, Md.)
Brandon Morris, Benedict (F, Sr., Lithonia, Ga.)
DeAngelo Stephens-Bell, Shaw (G, Sr., Jacksonville, Fla.)
Tyrius Walker, Morehouse (G, Sr., Atlanta, Ga.)

Second Team All-Americans
Josh Bryant, Fayetteville State (G, Jr., Fayetteville, N.C.)
Reshun Ellis, LeMoyne-Owen (G, Sr., Memphis, Tenn.)
Omari George, Bowie State (G/F, Sr., Baltimore, Md.)
Richard Granberry, Virginia State (F, Sr., Chester, Pa.)
Quincy January, Saint Augustine’s (F, Sr., Atlanta, Ga.)
Christian Kirchman, Johnson C. Smith (G, Sr., Roanoke, Va.)
Chris Scott, Central State (C, Jr., Cleveland, Ohio)

BOXTOROW Player of the Year: Tyrius Walker, Morehouse
BOXTOROW Coach of the Year: Ricky Jackson, Claflin

BOXTOROW National Players of the Year
2016-17 Ray Anderson, Virginia Union
2015-16 Rodnerius Lewis, Stillman
2014-15 Denzel Dillingham, Paine
2013-14 Mark Thomas, Livingstone
2012-13 Angelo Sharpless, Elizabeth City State
2011-12 Malik Alvin, Shaw
2010-11 Raheem Smith, Shaw
2009-10 Darren Jones, West Virginia State
2008-09 Anthony Hilliard, Elizabeth City State

BOXTOROW National Coaches of the Year
2016-17 Jay Butler, Virginia Union
2015-16 Lonnie Blow, Virginia State/Donte Jackson, Stillman
2014-15 Jimmy Link, Paine
2013-14 James Stinson, Paine/Leon Douglas, Tuskegee
2012-13 Fred Watson, Benedict
2011-12 Cleo Hill, Jr., Shaw
2010-11 Cleo Hill, Jr., Shaw
2009-10 Lonnie Blow, Saint Augustine’s2008-09 Ron Woodard, Claflin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.