2017 BOXTOROW MEAC Preview

Will this be the year the MEAC has one champion?

by Donal Ware

For the first time since 2012, the MEAC had an outright champion in 2016.

The champion was North Carolina Central.

Last year showed how the conference continues to gain respect as one of the more competitive conferences in FCS. Both the Eagles and North Carolina A&T were undefeated in MEAC play heading into the Aggie-Eagle Rivalry game on the last day of the season. The Eagles left no doubt, defeating the Aggies 42-21 in Durham to win their first MEAC title since 1973.

The Eagles earned their first trip to the Celebration Bowl, falling to Grambling 10-9 in a thriller and finishing No. 2 in the final BOXTOROW Coaches and Media Polls. Meanwhile, the Aggies earned an at-large berth in the FCS playoffs, falling to Richmond in the first round.

There was no doubt that the Eagles had finally earned their respect. After being picked to finish behind the Aggies even having beaten them the previous two years, the Eagles have been picked to win the MEAC.

North Carolina Central is loaded for 2017 as is North Carolina A&T. But there are some other teams in the MEAC that may surprise in 2017. We break it all down below in the BOXTOROW predicted order of finish.

Below are our HBCU Football Daily Podcasts that preview all 11 MEAC teams. You can listen to the podcasts online or download them. Let us know what you think. Follow us on TwitterFacebook or Instagram and use #HBCU125 The podcasts are in order of how we think the teams will finish in respective divisions.

North Carolina Central
North Carolina A&T
South Carolina State
Florida A&M
Morgan State
Norfolk State

Savannah State

Delaware State

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.