VUU’s Anderson named BOXTOROW Player of the Year; leads All-America Team

With the college basketball season officially over, BOXTOROW releases its annual Division II All-America teams.

Virginia Union senior guard Ray Anderson has been named BOXTOROW Division II Player of the Year.  Anderson helped lead the Panthers to the CIAA Northern Division title and a berth in the NCAA Regionals.  Anderson led the CIAA in scoring (18.1), averaged 4.6 rebounds and 3.3 assists per game.  Anderson has made the All-America First Team for the second-straight year.

Virginia Union head coach Jay Butler was named BOXTOROW Coach of the Year.  Butler led the Panthers to a 22-8 record, CIAA Northern Division title and berth in the NCAA Regional in his second season at the helm of the VUU program.

BOXTOROW has administered the All-America teams since 2009.

First Team All-Americans
Ray Anderson, Virginia Union (G, Sr., Wilmington, DE)
Quayshun Hawkins, Benedict (G, Sr., Columbia, S.C.)
Quincy January, Saint Augustine’s (F, Jr., Atlanta, Ga.)
Dorian Jordan, Kentucky State (G, Jr., Cincinnati, Ohio)
Brandon Morris, Benedict (G, Jr., Lithonia, Ga.)
Malcolm Smith, Kentucky State (G, Sr., Cincinnati, Ohio)
Justin Street, LeMoyne-Owen (F, Sr., Memphis, Tenn.)
Tyrius Walker, Morehouse (G, Jr., Atlanta, Ga.)

Second Team All-Americans
Kendarius Ash, Lane (F, Soph., Decatur, Ga.)
Benji Bell, Shaw (G, Sr., Gainesville, Fla.)
Robert Colon, Winston-Salem State (G, Fr., Jacksonville, N.C.)
Richard Granberry, Virginia State (F, Jr., Chester, Pa.)
Ryan McNeill-Moses, Claflin (F, Sr., Washington, D.C.)
Dwight Richards, Jr., Central State (F, Jr., Fort Wayne, Ind.)
Ahmaad Wilson, Bowie State (G, Jr., Baltimore, Md.)

BOXTOROW Player of the Year: Ray Anderson, Virginia Union
BOXTOROW Coach of the Year: Jay Butler, Virginia Union


BOXTOROW National Players of the Year
2015-16 Rodnerius Lewis, Stillman
2014-15 Denzel Dillingham, Paine
2013-14 Mark Thomas, Livingstone
2012-13 Angelo Sharpless, Elizabeth City State
2011-12 Malik Alvin, Shaw
2010-11 Raheem Smith, Shaw
2009-10 Darren Jones, West Virginia State
2008-09 Anthony Hilliard, Elizabeth City State

BOXTOROW National Coaches of the Year
2015-16 Lonnie Blow, Virginia State/Donte Jackson, Stillman
2014-15 Jimmy Link, Paine
2013-14 James Stinson, Paine/Leon Douglas, Tuskegee
2012-13 Fred Watson, Benedict
2011-12 Cleo Hill, Jr., Shaw
2010-11 Cleo Hill, Jr., Shaw
2009-10 Lonnie Blow, Saint Augustine’s
2008-09 Ron Woodard, Claflin