Cohen, Berry Top BOXTOROW’s Preseason All-American Team

The 2016 college football season is upon us and media members from around the country have selected the 2016 BOXTOROW Preseason All-America Team.

Former BOXTOROW Rookie of the Year and two-time BOXTOROW All-American North Carolina A&T running back Tarik Cohen and another two-time BOXTOROW All-American Alabama State linebacker Kourtney Berry lead the 28-man team.

Cohen and Berry are two of the 17 who were named to the 2015 postseason team.

Defending BOXTOROW National Champion North Carolina A&T leads the way with five selections; North Carolina Central has three, while Hampton, Southern, Grambling State and Virginia Union have two a piece.

Cohen, a senior from Bunn, N.C., had a superb junior year, leading the MEAC and finishing sixth in FCS in rushing yards (1,543). He averaged 5.8 yards per carry and rushed for 12 touchdowns. His talents were on display nationally when he rushed for 295 yards and three touchdowns – all over 70 yards – in A&T’s 41-34 victory over Alcorn State in the inaugural Celebration Bowl which was televised by ABC.

Berry continued to be the model of consistency, leading the SWAC and finishing fifth in FCS in tackles (130) and tackles per game (11.8). He also registered 5.5 tackles for loss.

This is the 10th year BOXTOROW has administered the Preseason All-America Team.

2016 Preseason BOXTOROW All-America Team

QB: Trey Green, Prairie View A&M, r-Sr., Beaumont, Texas
RB: Tarik Cohen, North Carolina A&T, Sr., Bunn, N.C.
RB: Lenard Tillery, Southern, r-Sr., Baton Rouge, La.
OL: Brandon Parker, North Carolina A&T, r-Jr., Kannapolis, N.C.
OL: Desmond Cooper, North Carolina Central, r.Sr., Stafford, Va.
*OL: Detonio Dade, Alcorn State, Sr., Laurel, Miss.
*OL: Carl Jones, North Carolina Central, r-Sr., Nashville, Tenn.
OL: Justin Nester, Bowie State, Sr., Dayton, Md.
OL: Justin Miller, Grambling State, Sr., Ruston, La.
TE: Ja-Quan Lumas, Bethune-Cookman, r-Jr., Orlando, Fla.
WR: Nyme Manns, Bowie State, r-Sr., Baltimore, Md.
WR: TJ Mixon, Hampton, r-Sr., Charlotte, N.C.

DL: Angelo Keyes, North Carolina A&T, r-Sr., Kinston, N.C.
L: Javancy Jones, Jackson State, Sr., Macon, Miss.
DL: Marquis Ragland, North Carolina A&T, r-Sr., Fayetteville, N.C.
*DL: Paulin Miano, Virginia Union, Sr., Washington D.C.
*DL: Paul Brooks, Jr., Alcorn State, Jr., Jackson, Miss.
LB: Kourtney Berry, Alabama State, Sr., Merrillville, Ind.
LB: Darius Leonard, South Carolina State, r-Jr., Lake View, S.C.
LB: Jeremy Miles, North Carolina Central, r-Sr., Durham, N.C.
DB: Carlo Thomas, Johnson C. Smith, Jr., East Orange, N.J.
DB: Rodeshawn Joseph, Virginia Union, Sr., Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
DB: Jonah McCutcheon, Tuskegee, r-Jr., Mobile, Ala.
DB: Guy Stallworth, Grambling State, Sr., Gulfport, Miss.

P: Christian Faber-Kinney, Hampton, Jr., Williamsburg, Va.
PK: Nick Christiansen, Miles, Jr., Clayton, N.C.
PR: Khris Gardin, North Carolina A&T, Jr., Morganton, N.C.
KR: Willie Quinn, Southern, Sr., Miami, Fla.

*Indicates tie

FROM THE PRESS BOX TO PRESS ROW (BOXTOROW) is the national sports talk radio show, placing major emphasis on HBCU sports, which has been airing on radio stations across the country since 2005 as well as on SiriusXM.